Sports: Baseball Coach

Inducted: 2011

Baseball Coach 1970 – 1997

Iowa’s All-Time winningest baseball coach with career record of 810-575-4; Led Iowa to 21 consecutive winning seasons (1970 – 1990), three NCAA Post-Season Tournament appearances, and 1972 College World Series; Coached three Big Ten Championship teams, 1972, 1974, 1990, six All-Americans, 31 All-Big Ten selections, and 57 players signed professional contracts; Named Big Ten Conference Coach of the Year, 1990; President of American Baseball Coaches Association, 1989; Inducted into American Baseball Coaches Hall of Fame, 1992; and Iowa’s baseball field named in his honor in 2001.