Sports: Wrestling Coach

Inducted: 2002

Wrestling Coach 1977-97


20-year tenure, coached Iowa to a record 15 NCAA Championships, including 9 consecutive, a mark that tied the NCAA streak for consecutive championships in any sport; He coached his teams to 21 Big Ten Team Championships, he coached 45 NCAA Individual Champions, 152 All-Americans, and 106 Big Ten Individual Champions; He is a three-time NCAA Coach of the Year and coached 7 perfect seasons; his Big Ten record is 131-2-1, a 98.5% winning percentage, and his overall record stands at 355-21-5, a 94.4% winning percentage.